Facts about Four Corners Monument

Ashley | 09 - 07 - 2020
Facts about Four Corners Monument

Where do 4 states meet? Here is a place that allows you to be in the 4 states all at once. Four Corners Monument is a place where the 4 corners of the states Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, and Colorado meet. Let’s learn more facts about the Four Corners of the United States.

History of Four Corners, USA

The Four Corners are four states that meet at a common corner, which was annexed by New Spain in the 16th century and later gained independence in 1821. The monument was acquired by the United States after the Mexican-American War in 1848.

Later at the beginning of the 1960s after the civil war, the fine lines were surveyed in 1868. The border between the Colorado and New Mexican territories was known as the “Darling Line”. The first marker was placed at the spot in 1912. Later they became the legal boundaries. This is a place where four corners of the state meet, hence it is upgraded with brass and granites and named “Four Corners Monument”.

1. Starting from Colorado, the Disk Reads, “in Freedom under God Four States Here Meet”.
  • A. True
  • B. False

This is one of the main tourist attractions and is maintained by the Navajo Nation Parks and Recreation Department. The monument has state seals and flags representing different states and tribal regions. It also has Jurisdictional boundaries of the two semi-autonomous Navajo Nation and Ute Mountain Ute Tribe Reservation. The first Navajo tribal government was established in 1923 to manage the increasing number of oil explorations on Navajo land. The headquarters of Ute Mountain and Ute Tribe Reservation Headquarters is located in Towaoc, Colorado.

Though it is present in a remote location, it is one of the major tourist attractions. Monument Valley, Chaco Canyon, and Canyon de Chelly National Monument are some of the places that are located near Four Corners and these are also some famous tourist attractions apart from 4 Corners, USA. Where is the Four Corners located? It is a part of a region known as the Colorado Plateau. It follows a weather system called the Köppen climate classification system. Grand Canyon is another major tourist attraction and is located in Arizona and its length is 277 miles. From Four Monuments to the Grand Canyon, the distance is around 232 miles. 

Starting from Colorado, the disk reads, “Here meet in freedom under God four states”

From New Mexico, the disk reads, “In freedom under God four states here meet”

From Arizona, the disk reads, “Under God four states here meet in freedom”

Starting from Utah, the disk reads, “Four states here meet in freedom under God”

If you are planning your trip to visit the Four Corners Monument, there are many hotels around the Four Corners Monument in the towns of Kayenta and Flagstaff. And when you visit the Four Corners Monument do not forget to post pictures online with the caption “I am standing in four places at once”.

Related Quiz Test Your Knowledge
Read Next