How Many Countries Are Transcontinental Countries?

Iris | 04 - 20 - 2021
Transcontinental Countries

But even the geographer gets confused when it comes to transcontinental countries. How many of you are aware of transcontinental countries? If you are one among them, then this amazing geography quiz is for you. Play now and have fun. 

What Are Transcontinental Countries?

Transcontinental countries are nations that lie in more than one continent. They are also known as intercontinental states. Transcontinental countries are countries that share one part of their territory on one continent and other parts of their territory on another continent. The boundaries between the two continents are purely conventional, which results in finding themselves entirely on one of the continents.

  • Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan is also known as Azerbaidzhan or the Azerbaijani Republic. It is located between Asia and Europe, with Russia on the North, the Caspian Sea on the East, Iran on the South, and West by Armenia, and the Northwest by Georgia.    

Which City Is Located On 2 Different Continents?
  • A. Istanbul
  • B. Germany
  • C. Thailand
  • D. None of the Above
  • Egypt

Egypt is one of the most popular transcontinental countries in the world as it extends between the northeast corner of Africa and the southwest corner of Asia through a land bridge formed by the Sinai Peninsula.

  • France

France has many overseas regions like French Guiana in South America, Guadeloupe and Martinique in North America (Caribbean). Mayotte and Réunion in Africa (Indian Ocean) are considered integral parts of the country. 

  • Kazakhstan

Kazakhstan is a smaller part of Europe and it is a Central Asian country.  Its provincial borders do not follow the Ural river, whereas two of its provinces Atyrau and West Kazakhstan are transcontinental. The capital of Atyrau province is split by the Ural which is an intercontinental city where most of its parts are in Asia.

  • United States

While the 50 U.S states lie in North America, except the one state called Hawaii, it is located in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Hence it is considered as a part of Oceania island and Alaskan islands on Northeast Asia’s Continental Shelf.  

While many countries have landed on other continents, two countries are on the two continents. They are Russia and Turkey. 

  • Russia

It is considered both the country of Europe and Asia as it is situated between Northern Asia and Eastern Europe. 

  • Turkey 

Like Russia, Turkey is also considered as both the country of Asia and Europe.

Read Next