Which Essential Document Was Signed in the US in the Year 1776?

Maithily A | 02 - 10 - 2020
Which Essential Document Was Signed in the US in the Year 1776

Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence. It is the most important document in the history of the United States. The United States Declaration of Independence was signed on July 4, 1776. This document was approved by the Continental Congress and was announced during the separation of Great Britain and 13 North American British colonies.

Purpose of the Declaration of Independence

The Declaration of Independence marks its importance in the history of America because it states the American freedom from King George III. The declaration justifies the right to rebel against the government which didn’t guarantee the natural right to the natives anymore. It also helped Americans get increased assistance from other countries like France during the freedom fight against the King of England.

The document also records the equality and liberty which according to the colonists were essential for every citizen. The document was signed by various authorities including George Read, Caesar Rodney, Thomas McKean, George Clymer, Benjamin Franklin, Robert Morris, John Morton, Benjamin Rush, James Smith, James Wilson, George Taylor, George Ross, and others.

1. How Many Delegates Signed the Declaration of Independence?
  • A. 65
  • B. 56
  • C. 64
  • D. 61

What Does the Declaration of Independence Say?

The declaration of Independence states that the authority of governing belongs to the citizens of the people and not the kings. This document is an essential part of American democracy as it initially contains the ideals of the nation. It also includes the complaints and arguments made by the colonists in contrast to the king of the British.

The original copy of the Declaration of Independence is kept in the National Archives, Washington D.C. The U.S. still enjoys a federal holiday on July 4th to celebrate its independence. p>

Read Next