Which States Don’t Allow You to Pump Your Own Gas?

Eliza | 20 - 08 - 2020
Which States Don’t Allow You to Pump Your Own Gas?

There are only two places in the U.S. where you can’t pump your own gas – New Jersey and Oregon.

Every day Americans pump their own gas into their vehicles and this is common. But have you ever thought that pumping your own gas could become a crime? Yes, in New Jersey and Oregon it is illegal to pump your own gas. And they are well known for having gas attendants at the gas station.   

States Where You Can’t Pump Your Own Gas

1. What Happens If You Pump Your Own Gas in NJ?
  • A. Heavy Fine
  • B. Punishment
  • C. Vehicle Seize
  • D. None of the above

New Jersey’s Law on Pumping Your Own Gas

In the year 1949, New Jersey congress passed the Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act which prohibited gas retail customers from pumping their own gas. This means that the gas station attendants will pump gas for you. If anyone violates the law, then the consequences will be from $50 to $250 fine for the first offense, and not to exceed $500 for each subsequent offense thereafter.

Oregon’s Law on Pumping Your Own Gas

In 1951, Oregon passed its own law for pumping your own gas. And throughout the years both the states have faced its challenges. But recently in 2018, Oregon changed its fuel servicing law that gives the customers the right to pump their own gas. In some of the rural towns in Oregon, residents are allowed to legally pump their own gas in their vehicles.

This law is only applicable for counties with populations of less than 40,000 residents. And in crowded counties, there will be full-service gas stations with employees. In 48 out of 50 states there will be full-service gas stations and it is acceptable to pump your own gas. But now, New Jersey is the only state which completely follows the law and is the only state that pumps gas for you.        

What Happens If You Pump Your Own Gas in New York?

In the 1980’s Huntington, New York fire safety concern became a major problem for the Fire Department. Here, pumping your own gas is a threat and therefore the state issued a regulation that allows only the attendant to pump gas for you. And if anyone is seen pumping their own gas, they will have to go through heavy fine payment.

Read Next