Nobel Prize Winners 2021: Here’s the Complete Winner List

Elmira | 10 - 13 - 2021
Nobel Prize winners 2021

The Nobel Prize 2021 winner list is here. The Nobel Prize is not only to make a Nobel laureate famous but also to honor him/her for their contribution to humankind. Many scientists and experts dream to achieve this prestigious award. The announcement of Nobel Prizes 2021 started on 6th October and continued till 11th October. Six Nobel Prizes were given by committees in Sweden and Norway on six different days. Read on to find the Nobel Prize 2021 winners list to expand your knowledge.

Nobel Prize Committee

The committees provide six Nobel Prizes to individuals or organizations every year for a groundbreaking achievement or contribution to humankind. These awards will be distributed for medicine or physiology, chemistry, physics, economic science, literature, and peace work. Nobel prize winners receive a medal, diploma certificate, and 10 million Swedish Krona, or around 1.1 million dollars that are divided if they have multiple winners.

Who Will Win the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021?
  • A. Abdulrazak Gurnah
  • B. Nelly Sachs
  • C. Mikhail Sholokhov
  • D. All of the Above

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s event was a mixture of physical and digital events. The organisation announced that winners will receive the Nobel Prize awards and diplomas  in their home countries in December.

Nobel Prize Winners 2021: The Complete List Of Awardees And Their Contributions

From 1901 to 2021, 609 times the Nobel Prizes and the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded to 975 individuals and organizations. Below, we have put together Nobel Prize winners by country.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

The Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine is awarded to two scientists including David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch”. They are from the University of California, San Francisco, and Ardem Patapoutian, and Scripps Research, La Jolla, California, respectively.

The Nobel Prize for Chemistry

Benjamin List from Max Planck Institute and David W.C. MacMillan from Princeton University bagged the Nobel Prize for chemistry. They individually created the new method of catalysis in 2000. The award is given for a precise, inexpensive, fast and efficient, and environmentally friendly way to make new molecules using an easy and brilliant concept of catalysis, called asymmetric organocatalysis.

Nobel Prize in Physics 2021

Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, Giorgio Parisi are the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics for their groundbreaking discoveries on understanding complex systems. Syukuro analyzed the connection between radiation stability and the vertical transportation of air masses. He found theories to help create climate models that can assist in discovering weather patterns. Klaus Hasselmann’s methods discovered that the cause of global warming is because of human emission of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Giorgio Parisi’s discoveries contributed to understanding complex systems.

Nobel Prize in Literature 2021

Abdulrazak Gurnah received the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 for his compassionate contribution to the outcomes of colonialism and the future of the refugee in the distance between cultures and continents. He is well known for his short stories and novels based on the disruption of refugees.

2021 Nobel Peace Prize

Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov bagged the Nobel Prize award for Peace. They received awards for their contribution to safeguarding freedom of expression.

Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences

The three laureates won Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences including David Card, Joshua D. Angrist, and Guido W. Imbens. David Card won for his contribution to labor economics. Joshua D. Angrist and Guido W. Imbens received the award “for their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships.”

Read Next