What Are Capsule Cover Made Of?

Maithily A | 12 - 18 - 2023
What Are Capsules Made Of

Traditional capsule cover is made from gelatin and soft-shelled capsules are made up of liquids, oils, or other active ingredients suspended in the oil. So, there are two basic types of capsule covers: gelatin and vegetarian.

Several techniques are used to wrap medicines in a shell known as ‘capsule.’ The process of enclosing medicines allows patients to take oral medications. Capsules can be soft-shelled or hard-shelled.

What Is Gelatin Capsule Made Of?

Gelatin is an animal protein that is used in the making of capsules. The pharmaceutical-grade gelatin is used in two-piece hard-shell gelatin capsules. Gelatin capsules are made with gelatin formed by boiling the skin and bones of cows and pigs. The gelatin capsule is also made with beef gelatin soured from North America, Southeast Asia, Japan, Indonesia, or Colombia.

1. What Are Capsules Made Of?
  • A. Gelatin
  • B. Plastic
  • C. Fiber
  • D. None of the Above

What Are Vegetarian Capsules?

They are ideal alternatives for vegetarians and vegans. Vegetarian capsules are obtained from plant cellulose or from vegetables. Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose from pine trees or polysaccharides from tapioca is used to make vegetarian capsule covers.

Are Gelatin Capsules Safe?

Gelatin capsules are a smart choice for arthritis patients because collagen can provide relief from joint pain. Gelatin capsules are effective in supporting weight loss, helping patients recover from injury, improving hair condition. They are safe and are widely available in the market due to low production costs.

Is Capsule Cover Harmful?

According to FDA, gelatin in food is not harmful however, there is no standard dosage. Few patients might experience some side effects like indigestion, bloated stomach, hypersensitivity, exposure to toxins, and gastric problems. Excessive consumption can even lead to liver and kidney damage.

Capsule Shell Made of Vegetarian Cellulose

To avoid problems arising from gelatin capsule covers, vegetarian capsule covers are an ideal choice. Though they are expensive to produce, the popularity of vegetarian capsule shells is increasing because they are safe and also don’t hurt the religious sentiments of many people. Vegetarian capsules are made of purified water and HPMC that are natural and do not have any impact on health.

Vegetarian capsules can be consumed by our digestive system. They are filled with liquid, gel, and powder contents with no starch, sugar, and other preservatives.

Maintaining good health and following a healthy lifestyle can help you in avoiding the intake of capsules at all!

Related Quiz Test Your Knowledge
Read Next