Look at the 4 US Presidents Who Have Won Nobel Prize

Iris | 07 - 09 - 2021

What is Nobel Peace Prize?

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of a Swedish industrialist, Alfred Bernhard Nobel, who was also an inventor, and military weapons and equipment manufacturer. The Norwegian Nobel Committee presents the Nobel Peace Prize to a different person each year. The award ceremony is held each year on December 10, which is the anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death. The award generally consists of a medal, a personal certificate, and monetary compensation. 

Which President won the Nobel Peace Prize in the Year 2009?

Barack Obama is the fourth US President who has won the Nobel Peace Prize in the year 2009. Obama received the award less than eight months after being sworn in and many people, including Obama supporters, criticized the Nobel Committee’s choice. 

Why Did Obama Get a Nobel Peace Prize?

The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the country’s 44th President, Barack Obama (2009-2017) “extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between people.” Obama’s accomplishments were his support of nuclear non-proliferation and the creation of a “new environment” in international affairs. He also gave the entire award money of 10 million Swedish kronor (about $1.4 million) to charity.

Who Was the First President to Win the Nobel Peace Prize?
  • A. Theodore Roosevelt
  • B. Jimmy Carter
  • C. Woodrow Wilson
  • D. None of the Above

List of US Presidents Who Won Nobel Prize

Until now, the Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to four US presidents including Barack Obama.

  • Theodore Roosevelt (1906)

Roosevelt, the 26th President of the United States (1901-1909), was not the only first American president to receive the award, but also the world’s first leader to receive the Nobel Peace Prize five years after it was established.

Roosevelt, a historian, biographer, statesman, hunter, and naturalist, received the award for mediating peace between imperial Russia and Japan during the Russo-Japanese War of 1904-05. Roosevelt was responsible for fostering America’s imperial ambitions, such as completing his country’s dominance over the Philippines. 

He is also renowned for opposing Woodrow Wilson, the 28th President and the country’s second senior statesman to earn the Nobel Peace Prize, in his attempts to make the United States a member of the League of Nations.

  • Woodrow Wilson (1919)

Woodrow Wilson, the 28th President of the United States (1913-1921) received the prize for his efforts in bringing World War I to a close, as well as for being a primary architect of the League of Nations, which arose from his famous “Fourteen Points.” Although the League failed after a few years, it served as a model for the United Nations after WWII.

  • Jimmy Carter (2002)

The Peace Prize was presented to the 39th President, Jimmy Carter (1977–81) for his decades of unwavering commitment to find peaceful solutions to international disputes, expand democracy and human rights, and promote economic and social growth.

During his presidency, Carter was lauded for his involvement in brokering a peace treaty between Israel and Egypt. His later years were more difficult, with foreign policy disasters like the confrontation with Iran and the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan culminating in his defeat for re-election in 1980 to the conservative Ronald Reagan. 

Following his presidency, Carter continued peace and mediation efforts on his own and co-founded the Carter Center, a non-profit dedicated to advancing human rights.

Which VP Won the Nobel Peace Prize?

Apart from the four US Presidents, one Vice President, Al Gore (1993-2001) has received the Nobel Peace Prize, which he shared in 2007 with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for their joint efforts “to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures required to counteract such change.”

Read Next